Jordan Larson is the captain of the U.S. Olympic volleyball team for Paris

Jordan Larson, a former Nebraska women’s volleyball player and current Huskers assistant coach, was named to her fourth U.S. Olympic team for the Paris Games on Wednesday. She is one of three former Huskers on the team.

Larson, 37, led the Americans to their first Olympic gold medal in women’s indoor volleyball at the 2020 Tokyo Games (played in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic). She was named MVP and best outside hitter for the Tokyo Olympics.

As a college player, she won an NCAA title with Nebraska in 2006. With Team USA, she won Olympic silver in 2012 and Olympic bronze in 2016. Larson, who grew up in the small town of Hooper, Nebraska, is nicknamed “The Governor.” for her popularity in her home state.

She is an assistant to longtime Nebraska head coach John Cook, who played in front of a record crowd of 92,003 at Memorial Stadium in Lincoln, Nebraska, in August. The Huskers then made the NCAA finals in December, falling to Texas.

Larson is one of eight Olympic veterans on coach Karch Kiraly’s team for the 2024 Paris Games.

“Our core group of 25 women’s national teams has done a tremendous job in recent months preparing to bring out the best in every person around them, ahead of the Olympic Games in Paris,” said Kiraly. “We are ecstatic for this group and for our program.”

Another former Nebraska player, outside hitter Kelsey Robinson Cook, will compete in her third Olympic Games. A third former Husker, libero Justine Wong-Orantes (who won an NCAA title in 2015), is competing in her second Olympics.

Also on the Olympic team for the second time are setter Jordyn Poulter (Illinois), opposite hitters Annie Drews (Purdue) and Jordan Thompson (Cincinnati), and middle blockers Chiaka Ogbogu (Texas) and Haleigh Washington (Penn State, 2014 NCAA title ) .

The four first-time Olympians are outside hitters Kathryn Plummer (Stanford, won NCAA titles in 2016, 2018, 2019) and Avery Skinner (Kentucky, won the Wildcats and SEC’s first NCAA title in 2020), middle blocker Dana Rettke (led Wisconsin to its first NCAA title in 2021), and former Badger Lauren Carlini, who ended her career at Wisconsin in 2016.

Five alternates were also named, but only one will be selected to accompany the team to Paris and replace an injured player.

The US women have won one Olympic gold medal (2020), three silver medals (1984, 2008 and 2012) and two bronze medals (1992 and 2016).

The women’s Olympic competition schedule and pools will be announced after the 2024 Volleyball Nations League preliminary rounds, which end on June 16. The American women will play their final preliminary round of the VNL in Japan next week.