close
close

Adobe is locking out users who don’t agree to new terms allowing the company to use and sublicense their content

Adobe recently updated its terms and conditions, which has caused a stir among professionals as it violates their data protection. The change means that the company will be able to access and freely use user content according to their will as well as distribute it. While the new changes may not be a worrying addition to the average user, content creators on social media have shown their disinterest and highlighted terms that violate data protection.

Adobe’s updated terms and conditions violate data privacy by asking users to access their content

Adobe’s new terms have infuriated professionals and content creators who, instead of protecting user data and privacy, ask them for permission to use content freely and also sublicense it. The company’s asking price for the service is something that professionals shy away from because their content is at risk if terms and conditions are agreed upon.

This is not all, as the company is also banning users from its services and apps if they do not agree to the new terms. This means that unless users agree to the new rules, they will be limited in their use of the service. Adobe released a statement about the change, suggesting that the new terms clearly tell users that they will be able to access user content through both manual and automated means. See what’s in the terms and conditions, which has disappointed professionals.

Solely for the purpose of operating or improving the Services and Software, you grant us a non-exclusive, worldwide, royalty-free sublicensable license to use, reproduce, publicly display, distribute, modify, create derivative works based on, publicly perform and translate the content. For example, we may sublicense our right to the Content to our service providers or to other users to operate the Services and Software with others, such as to enable you to share photos.

Many professionals have shared their displeasure with the new terms on X, suggesting that users should cancel Adobe and not suddenly give users rights to their work. One user further said that he cannot even uninstall Photoshop unless the terms are agreed upon. Check out some reactions from the community.

Film director Duncan Jones objected to the terms, saying:

Here it is. If you are a professional, if you have a non-disclosure agreement with your clients, if you are a creative, a lawyer, a doctor or anyone else who works with proprietary files – it’s time to cancel Adobe and uninstall all apps and programs . Adobe cannot be trusted.

Concept artist Sam Santala says:

I can’t even reach your support chat to question this unless I agree to these terms beforehand.

I can’t even uninstall Photoshop unless I agree to these terms?

Designer Wetterschneider states:

Here it is. If you are a professional, if you have a non-disclosure agreement with your clients, if you are a creative, a lawyer, a doctor or anyone else who works with proprietary files – it’s time to cancel Adobe and uninstall all apps and programs . Adobe cannot be trusted.

Those familiar with the matter have given their reasons in favor of Adobe’s new terms, suggesting the clause is part of the thumbnail creation service. Some have also suggested that it could be related to CSAM scanning. However, we await further clarification from the company.